Capsule

Improve Note Quality

note-taking has 3 main step

  1. taking(writing) note
  2. reviewing - revisiting note after some time to remember it, and
  3. feedback from ourselves and other people.

in this post we will go through all three steps and I will share main techniques how to start improving them

Writing

1. Write As much as you can

Write Every Thought Every Idea Every Concept

Catch key concept and write them.

Write "Full" notes.

revisit, rewatch, reread material and write.

2. connect Ideas

use obsidian or Zettelkasten — Second Brain system to make links over your digital notes.

how to connect and what? I am using Obsidian, so this note is connected to [[Note-Taking]], [[4D PKM]] system and so on

3. Visualize

Faster Understand note after some time Thinking widely and perspective.

Draw your note, or parts of the note.

A picture is worth 1000 words

4. personalize

add personal examples or analogies, write with your words and make it more connected to you. this will help you to make emotionally connected to notes.

5. Applying knowledge

Encourage finding ways to use the information in real-life situations. (generate and add examples)

for example

I am taking note about Orthogonalization how I will use information in real life?

I will make "Buttons" to tune all the hyperparameters inside the Jupyter Notebook by so doing I will improve Experimentability of my models and make the process easier

ask yourself how this information can help me to achieve my goal? after an answer your note will become more important to you.

How this note can help me to achieve my goal? when I will publish post, I will improve my note-taking and explanation skills.

6. Examples

add as much examples as you can, because our brain learns according to examples.


step 2

Review

1. Active Recall

Review note after you finish writing it Reread note after some time

and actively recall using Spaced Repetition technique. you can use cards.

you can make your own spaced repetition cards or ask an AI to make them for you prompts to help you - according to note, generate 5 spaced repetition cards. - made an quiz for the note

self-quizzing or explaining concepts aloud

2. Reflection

After some time, reflect on how your understanding has changed or deepened.

Not only reread, also rewrite note.




step 3

Feedback

Dialogue can help you to see new perspectives. Discussing your note with human is good, but AI is always there for you, so use this opportunity as max as possible

prompts for AI improving your notes - ask some questions about note I send you, those questions should help me to make my note more detailed and easily understandable, broader concept goal of your questions are to help me expand on key concepts, fill in any gaps and connect this information to broader themes or real-world applications.

do not stop on one prompt talk as much as you can. understand your note and your thoughts. understand what you want to add.

also, do not forget to show your notes to other people, receive their opinion and according to them improve notes (I am doing same now, sharing it on bear blog.)



What I am using

1. Connecting 🔗
2. Review ⏳
3. Feedback 💁🏻‍♂️

I am always sharing my notes with friends.


What I should add ➕

1. Questions ❓
2. Active Recall 🃏

What I should Improve

1. AI 🤖

Dialogues With an AI.

2. Style 📃
3. More Visualizations 🖌️
4. Blog 🌐

I should write more and better posts